Parish Clerk

Rebecca Crabtree

The Clerk is the Parish Council’s ‘proper officer’ (defined for most legislation by s.270(3) Local Government Act 1972 ) and is the only member of staff. The role of the Clerk is to ensure that the Council as a whole conducts its business properly and to provide independent, objective and professional advice and support. The duties include but are not limited to:

ensuring that the council conducts its business lawfully,
administering all the council’s paperwork,
ensuring that meeting papers are properly prepared and the public is aware of meeting times,
implementing the council’s decisions,
keeping property registers and other legal documents.

The Staveley & Copgrove Clerk also takes on the role of the council’s Responsible Financial Officer (RFO). A copy of the Clerk’s current Job Description and Person Specification can be seen here. A copy of the current standard Contract of Employment can be seen here.

Staveley & Copgrove Parish Council is a small authority so the position of Clerk is part time, currently 4 hours per week. Details of how to contact the Clerk are on the Contact Us page. The following table lists the Clerks who have served the Parish Council in recent years.

Rebecca Crabtree2020 -
Neil Horton2019 - 2020
Kathy Haw2016 - 2019
Bernard Atkinson2010 - 2016
Sharon Scholes2009 - 2010
Jill Quinn? - 2008
Fiona Paton? - 2006/2007 - ?
Mrs S.J.Simpson2003 - 2005 - ?
Jenny Howarth2002 - 2003
Frank Shires? - 2001 - 2002
Anthony Meeke1997 - 1998 - ?
Ron Scott1990/5 - 1997

Parish Clerk Documents

To view the required document, select its Document Name

IDDocument NameTypeSize
0300Contract of EmploymentGoogle DocN/A
0298Job Application Pack - April 2019Google DocN/A
0299Job DescriptionGoogle DocN/A
0301Job Vacancy Poster - April 2019Portable Document Format351Kb
Total Documents4
What is the Document List?


This is the unique identifier of the document within the library.  Use this number if you need to report an issue with a document.

Document Name

This is the title of the document. Select the name to view and or download the document in a separate window.


This is the format of the document file. If you are using a mouse, hover over the type image to see a description of the document type.  See below for more information on the Document Types.


This is the size of the document file in Kilobytes (Kb) or Megabytes (Mb). The size is N/A if the document is in one of the Google formats

How do I navigate the Document List?

The List Length

The document list is initially displayed with the first 10 entries. The Show Entries drop-down selection box above the document list may be used to show more (or less) entries. The number of entries currently shown and the total number of entries in the list is displayed below the document list.


The Previous and Next buttons below the document list may be used to navigate between the list pages if not all the entries are shown.


The documents are initially listed in a pre-defined order. The list order may be reversed by selecting the Document Name column heading. The up/down arrow on the right side of the colum heading indicates the current sort direction.

Note that changing the sort direction affects all the documents in the list, not just those that may be currently visible.

What are the Document Types?

Documents with the type are PDFs. PDF is a cross-platform file format developed by Adobe. Documents from any application can be converted to PDF format. PDF documents retain the original appearance/layout/print quality independent of the files native application and platform.

Documents with the type are Google Docs.

Documents with the type are Google Sheets.

Documents with the type are Google Slides.

Documents with the type are Google Forms.

All documents in a Google format are automatically converted to a specified format when downloaded.

How do I Download a Document?

This will depend upon the device (desktop, laptop, tablet, smartphone etc.), the application (web browser, app etc.) that you are using to view the website and the file type of the selected document (see above).

Some devices will automatically download a document before displaying it using a file reader installed on the device, for example Adobe Acrobat or Foxit. Some web browsers will prompt for a download when the document is selected whilst others will open the document using a built-in file reader. You will need to explore the options of your device and web browser.

You will need a PDF reader to open and read a downloaded PDF document. There are many free PDF readers available, including Foxit Reader and Adobe Acrobat .

Documents that are stored on the Parish Council Google Drive will be displayed using the respective Google Docs, Sheets, Forms or Slides application. When the document is displayed, use File - Download As - [format] from the menu bar to download a copy of the document in the selected format. You can then either save the document on your local device or print the document by opening it in the appropriate local application and using the application print facility.